9 views 0 shares 0 comments
Created/changed by: System
Bookmarkset bookmark!

Three Palace Sanctuaries, Japan

Category: Attraction

Address details

1 Chiyoda
Tōkyō-to 100-0001

Chiyoda-ku, Japan
Print route »
N35° 40' 54.12" E139° 45' 0"   (35.6817, 139.75)
Start navigation »

Phone & WWW

Business hours


The Three Palace Sanctuaries (宮中三殿, Kyūchū sanden) are a group of structures in the precincts of the Imperial Palace in Tokyo, Japan. They are used in imperial religious ceremonies, including weddings and enthronements.
The three sanctuaries are:
Kashiko-dokoro (賢所) – the central shrine, dedicated to the mythological ancestress of the Imperial Family, Amaterasu. (Since 1915, special rolling stock for the ceremonial use of the imperial family is known as Kashiko-dokoro Jōgyosha (賢所乗御車) from the name of this sanctuary.) The Yasakani no magatama or Sacred Jewel, one of the Imperial Regalia of Japan, is also said to be housed in the Kashiko-dokoro.
Kōrei-den (皇霊殿) – the Ancestral Spirits Sanctuary, enshrining the departed spirits of the Imperial Family from one year after their death.
Shin-den (神殿) – the Sanctuary of the Kami, enshrining the Amatsukami (天津神) from Takama-ga-hara and the Kunitsukami (国津神) from Japanese mythology.


Random Images

Contact details

Three Palace Sanctuaries

Address: 1 Chiyoda, Chiyoda-ku, Tōkyō-to 100-0001, Japan