10 views 0 shares 0 comments
Created/changed by: System
Bookmarkset bookmark!

Parliament of New South Wales, Australia

Category: Attraction

Address details

6 Macquarie St
Sydney NSW 2000

Sydney, Australia
Print route »
S33° 52' 2.604" E151° 12' 45.684"   (-33.86739, 151.21269)
Start navigation »

Phone & WWW

Business hours


The Parliament of New South Wales, located in Parliament House on Macquarie Street, Sydney, is the main legislative body in the Australian state of New South Wales (NSW). It is a bicameral parliament elected by the people of the state in general elections. The parliament shares law making powers with the Australian Federal (or Commonwealth) Parliament. It is Australia's oldest legislature. The New South Wales Parliament follows the Westminster parliamentary traditions of dress, Green–Red chamber colours and protocol.The Parliament derives its authority from the Queen of Australia, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, represented by the Governor of New South Wales, who chairs the Executive Council of New South Wales. It consists of a lower house, the New South Wales Legislative Assembly, and an upper house, the New South Wales Legislative Council. Each house is directly elected by the people of New South Wales at elections held approximately every four years.


Random Images

Contact details

Parliament of New South Wales

Address: 6 Macquarie St, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia